top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Narrator

But Then Time Comes Just As the Wind Comes and Blows It All Away.



I will play this game

Until I am old and gray.

Cowboys, Indians

Shooting cap guns, shouting “How!”


My plan simply failed

Benighted by entropy

Otherwise known as

Time passing without asking.


Mother Nature’s Gift

Was how I lost Barbara.

“I am grown up now.”

That was her obtuse excuse.


Without Barbara

Chubby said play was no fun

Then he went away

Taking with him his brother.


Evaporating

Before my eyes was the life

I knew how to live –

Grass, dirt, rocks, bugs, sleds and snow.


Statues, hide-and-seek

Shoot the cap gun. Bang! Bang! Bang!

Hop-scotch, tetherball

Jacks, puzzles and paper dolls.


I still play a game

Having become old and gray.

Creating new life

That daily disappears.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page