top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Narrator

Can You Swim?



After jumping from the bridge, I had a conversation with a circling seal who was keeping me afloat.


Swoosh! Through the air! Down!

Bridge above. Air in-between.

Water soon to come.


Ouch! Water is hard.

And deep! I begin to sink.

Soon I shall be dead.


“Human. Can you swim?”

A voice in my ear I hear.

I am breathing air.


A seal swims beneath

Upon his back I lie safe.

“Human. Can you swim?”


Can a seal speak? How?

I hurled myself from the bridge

Death should have followed.


“Human. Can you swim?

If not, I will float you home.”

Now I am afraid.


Seal. Are you speaking?

Or am I dead or dreaming?

Please. Which one is it?


“You are neither dead

Nor dreaming. You are floating

And still quite alive.


Human. Can you swim?

If not, I will float you home.”

No. I prefer to sink.


“To what end I ask.”

You will not understand me.

“Talk. I will listen.”


I am not happy.

My life has not worked out well.

I am a loser.


“Why do you say that?”

Nobody loves me at all.

“Would you like the cure?”


You must be joking.

“First you must love anyone else

Then you may be loved.


Human. Can you swim?

If not, I will float you home.”

“Thank you,” seal, I said.









15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page