top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Narrator

You are not supposed to say “You are going to die.”



The very short, somewhat frightened Doctor Pierce was not resisting being pinned against the wall in the corner of the dying Mrs. Perkin’s hospital room. He had previously trained himself to be calm in the presence of her temperamental adult son Peter by mentally amusing himself with the close correspondence of Peter Perkin’s name to that of Peter Rabbit. Doctor Pierce’s fright was for the consequences to Peter Perkins should Peter Perkins actually harm Doctor Pierce.

Peter was gasping for breath and trembling. “You are not supposed to say 'You are going to die.' What kind of doctor are you?”

“Peter dear. I am quite sure that Doctor Pierce would like a breath of fresh air. You simply must let him out of the corner. Don't be upset, Doctor Pierce. Peter is harmless. He just doesn’t want to lose his mother.”

Peter Perkins sprang away from Doctor Pierce and walked to where his mother sat on the side of the hospital bed with her feet dangling. Doctor Pierce stayed where he was.


“You’re not going to die, Mother.”

“I’m sorry to say that I will be dying very soon, Peter, and I don’t want you and Doctor Pierce to be angry with each other. And please don’t be angry with me. These events must occur to justify such phrases as 'c'est la vie'”

“Mother, I don’t believe you are quite in your right mind. Otherwise how could you say something like that?"

“Oh! I can say whatever I want. Dying people do not have to be politically correct especially when what is politically correct is being decided by other people. Unfortunately for your sensitive feelings, Darling Peter, at this moment, you are the 'other people'.


“Peter. I am not going to die this very minute, but soon. Right now I want you to put your arms around me. Listen to your mother, Peter. Put your arms around me. Now look me in the eyes and repeat after me. Listen to your mother, Peter. Now, repeat after me. 'You are going to die.' Then put your head on my shoulder and cry away all your fear, grief and sorrow. I will wait for you.”


Peter Perkins did as he was asked.


Doctor Pierce left the room weeping and trembling.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page